Portuga’s Geographical units
Portugal, situated in the extreme southwest of Europe lies between latitudes 37 º N and 42 N and 7 W and 9 W. It consists of three geographical units: mainland Portugal and two peninsular units, the archipelago of Madeira and the Azores.

The continent consists of eighteen districts.

For statistical purposes Portugal is divided into NUTs (Nomenclature of Territorial Units). In Portugal there are three level I NUT (continental Portugal, Madeira and the Azores), subdivided into seven Level II.

Lisbon is the capital and largest city of Portugal and is also the capital of the district of Lisbon and the Lisbon Metropolitan Area. Sintra
The municipality of Sintra has an area of 316.06 km2 and is located in the district of Lisbon and region (NUTII) that has the same name. To the northeast of Lisbon, in this region majestic hills of Sintra stand out, with the village situated on the north side of the foothill of the mountain.

Sintra is a town in the Municipality of Sintra in Portugal, located in the Grande Lisboa subregion and the Lisbon Region. The town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s